Freiraum

Image, Text, Blog and View

That Lucky Old Sun

15 Comments

Reach Out
“Oh, show me that river, take me across,
wash all my troubles away.
Like that lucky old sun, gimme nothin’ to do,
But roll around heaven all day…”

An ephemeral and beautiful moment and one of my favorite backlighting photography. I used the perfect blue sky as background in the early morning where the sun reflected the bronze statue “maritime” on the balcony in Hamburg, Altona. It is one of best and central place to start the day for a walk along the river elbe or around the harbor area. Because the black and wite version has it is own character, I decided to share both versions.

Jerry Lee Lewis plays on the piano “That Lucky Old Sun” (YouTube-Link)

Einer dieser vergänglichen und schönen Momente und eine meiner bekannten Gegenlichtaufnahmen. Ein perfekter blauer Himmel am frühen Morgen und die Sonne, die die Bronze Statue “Maritim” auf dem Altonaer Balkon in Hamburg anstrahlte. Übrigens ist der Altonaer Balkon ein guter Platz um in den Tag zu starten, z.B. für einen Spaziergang im Hafenbereich oder entlang der Elbe. Und da die Schwarz/Weiß Aufnahme ihren eigenen Charakter besitzt, kommen hier beide Versionen.
Reach Out B_W

Author: Stefan

Welcome to my personal microcosmos "Freiaum/Free Zone" in the most beautiful city of the world, in Hamburg. Just someone with a camera and a mission to record the extra and the ordinary. My hearts beats among other things for Photography, Culture and Art, Visual Art, Social Media, Communication, Storytelling, Music, Literature, Blog and Text.

15 thoughts on “That Lucky Old Sun

  1. Trotz Affinität zu S/W Aufnahmen, hier bin ich ganz aufseiten der Farben. Eine sehr schöne Aufnahme. Dazu der geheimnisvolle Touch. Erst nach Lesen des Textes konnte ich einordnen, um was es sich handelt. Dies verleiht dem Bild zusätzlichen Charme.

    • Geheimnisvoll trifft es gut. Dankeschön für das Lob. Es ist ein bekanntes Fotomotiv, was ich schon fotografiert hatte. Das Gegenlicht der Sonne, der blaue Himmel, hatten daraus eine besondere Szene gemacht. Und da ich gern mit der Perspektive spiele bin ich mehr als zufrieden mit dem Ergebnis. Manchmal stelle ich auch eine S/W Aufnahme mit aus. Mir persönlich gefällt die farbigen Version ebenso besser.

  2. Beautiful! 😃 sowohl das Bild als auch das Lied! Wobei ich ja die etwas schwermütigere Version von Johnny Cash (Album: American III: Solitary Man) ja auch unheimlich gern mag. ☺️

  3. Wie immer sehr schön! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Ein Nachmittag mit Johnny Cash | The Sunflower Under The Willow Tree

  5. Such a wonderful contrast between the two shots Stefan and how beautiful is that brilliant blue sky!

    • It was early in the morning and the light and the blue sky were perfect. I only needed to find a scene. Thank you Patti for the compliment.